A Commonwealth Crisis

“Let’s Talk”

Senator Yaw announces the Winners!

The contest, open to all middle and high school students across the state, was sponsored by the Senate of Pennsylvania with support from the members of the Drug and Alcohol Service Providers Organization of Pennsylvania (DASPOP).

The challenge for students was to create a short video that addressed the issue of preventing teens from starting drugs – legal and illegal – including alcohol.

The Members of DASPOP provided $10,000 in prize money. The money will be awarded through the TAP 529 Account program in the Pennsylvania Department of Treasury and will be deposited into accounts in the names of the winners.


High School Category: 1st Place

Nolan Deck

Hempfield High School

Landisville, Lancaster County


High School Category: 2nd Place

Crysta O’Donnell

Palisades High School

Kintnersville, Bucks County


High School Category: 3rd Place

Ryan Craig, Andrew Kelley, Nolan Porterfield, Deven Anderson, and David Kieta

Connellsville Area Senior High School

Connellsville, Fayette County


Middle School Category: 1st Place

Finley Rauscher, Hailee Rodgers, Madelynn Dragosavac, Brock Cunningham and Bradyn Field

Cambridge Springs Jr/Sr High School

Cambridge Springs, Crawford County


Middle School Category: 2nd Place

Layla Obeid

Andrew W. Mellon Middle School

Mt. Lebanon, Allegheny County


Middle School Category: 3rd Place

Norina Baker

Freedom Area Intermediate School

Freedom, Beaver County


The Senate of Pennsylvania would like to thank all the judges involved in the “Talk To Your State Senator” Statewide Video Contest. Our judging panel consists of notable individuals from across the state, individuals who are highly recognized in the field of substance abuse and addiction.


Dr. Rachel Levine
Secretary, Pennsylvania Department of Health

Jennifer S. Smith
Secretary, Department of Drug and Alcohol Programs

Barry L. Denk             
Director, The Center for Rural Pennsylvania

Michele Denk 
Executive Director, PA Association of County Drug and Alcohol Administrators

Dr. Nancy Falvo          
Associate Professor of Nursing, Clarion University   

Tim Phillips, CAC        
Executive Director, Westmoreland Drug Overdose Taskforce

Ronna Yablonski         
Executive Director, Cambria County Drug Coalition